Skip to product information
1 of 1

The Boys in the Boat (Young Reader's Edition), by Daniel James Brown

The Boys in the Boat (Young Reader's Edition), by Daniel James Brown

Regular price $11.99
Regular price Sale price $11.99

(Paperback, 256 pages, first published in 2015)

The New York Times bestselling young readers adaptation of The Boys in the Boat, now in paperback with bonus content including an author Q&A and never-before-seen photographs

Inspiration for the PBS American Experience Documentary The Boys of '36

For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Great Depression comes the astonishing tale of nine working-class boys from the American West who at the 1936 Olympics showed the world what true grit really meant. With rowers who were the sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the University of Washington’s eight-oar crew was never expected to defeat the elite East Coast teams, yet they did, going on to shock the world by challenging the German boat rowing for Adolf Hitler.

At the center of the tale is Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, whose personal quest captures the spirit of his generation—the generation that would prove in the coming years that the Nazis could not prevail over American determination and optimism.

This deeply emotional yet easily accessible young readers adaptation of the award-winning #1 New York Times bestseller features never-before-seen photographs, highly visual back matter, and an exclusive new introduction.

Redeemed Reader Cautions: "Joe’s upbringing includes some rough situations. This young reader's adaption is suitable for young readers, but sensitive kids will be saddened by his treatment!" See their full review here.

Recommended Age: 10+ 

View full details